Laura’s Anime Journey: Fruits Basket

Unlike Abby and Sara, I haven’t dove into the deep abyss that is anime. So, Sara recommended one for me to watch.

I watched the first episode of Fruits Basket. (Before I start, I’d like to share that it was the English dubbed version, so if it seems well off of the one you watched, that may be why.)

Yuki Sohma is a teenager whose family harbors a strange secret: If any _indexof them are hugged by a member of the opposite sex, they transform into animals of the Chinese zodiac. To complicate things, Yuki’s family has taken in a young orphan named Tohru.” (Description of the anime via Netflix.)

When it first started, I was like whoa, what’s going on? Being told right off the bat that her mom has died and that she is living in the woods is a lot to take in, but easy to do at the same time. It definitely jumps into the plot quickly.

Now, I get that you’re probably supposed to like the two boys she encounters, but I’m not very fond of either of them. I mean, the one full out laughs when he found out how bad off she has things, and the other shuts down her thoughts on the cat from the story. They both just sound like complete jerks and I just don’t like either of them.

I am really curious about the whole, they turned into animals when she touched them thing. If there’s one thing I’d watch on for, it’s definitely that. Not to say that it wasn’t entertaining, it just moved a little too fast for my liking.

All in all though, this was a nice first experience.

Leave a Reply

